4 Comments

This is something that has always bothered me


I’ve heard it said time and time again over my life that college is supposedly “the best years of your life.” Now as I’m drawing closer to the end of my college days, I’m thinking about it more often. Surely, this can’t be true, right? How in the world is 4 years of listening to “Oh man, I got soooo drunk this weekend. I can’t remember what happened that night” and “Yeah, I’d totally hit that” weekly and working on stupid assignments all the time the best years of my life? I’m sure things might be different if I had been more outgoing but I have never been outgoing. These past 4 years have been the longest of my life and I’m in for a long freaking life if this was as good as it gets.

Another thing that is depressing is I had a teacher tell me a while back that college is the easiest and best time to date because you see so many people daily. After college it’s hard to meet people because most of the people you interact with are the people you work with and those relationships are really tricky. I really hope this isn’t the case because if it is then I am almost definitely going to be an old cat lady. I haven’t been on a date since high school and I can could on one hand the number of guys that have been interested in me over the last 4 years.

So what do you think? Is college really the best time of your life or does it get better after? I’m really interested to hear from those who are already done with school.

4 comments on “This is something that has always bothered me

  1. Some people say that your time in high school is supposed to be the “best years of your life” too, and I hope not. I’m a high school senior and will be in college in about 2 months or so, but I’ve never felt that these years were the best of my life. I made some good friends and had some good times, but it wasn’t as wonderful as people sometimes say. I’ll be graduating soon, and I’m really glad honestly!

    • I felt the same way about high school. Some parts were fun but overall I was glad to be done. I do have to say that college is SO much better than high school. Good luck to you in college!

  2. I’ve been out of college for 7 years now. Was it the best time of my life? I’d say no. I did enjoy it though.
    I’m having a better time now that I’m 30, married, with kids.
    I think we’re a lot alike. I have never been drunk in my life, so the whole “drinking” thing in college didn’t happen for me. I always somehow felt inferior because I didn’t drink. It’s hard to explain, but it was hard to just be myself.
    Now, I’m allowed to stay home every Friday and Saturday night doing nothing and no one cares. It’s just me and I feel like I can be myself now that I’m not around a bunch of people my age.
    I did enjoy college. I’m sure it’s because I found some roomates who were like me. We stayed home all the time and never went out partying. We didn’t sleep with any guys in all 4 years or do dumb things with guys. We just had fun together being lame. So I think that’s why I enjoyed college. I found some people like me. The assignments did get old though and I’m glad I don’t have to do that anymore. Now, I can choose what I want to learn and don’t have any more busywork and dumb group projects.
    I’m not sure about the relationships thing. I met my husband in college. Honestly, I am very glad for that or I would have had an extremely difficult time finding a guy after college since I like sitting at home, am shy, and am generally uncomfortable around most guys. Plus, my work was in elementary schools so there aren’t exactly a lot of co-workers who are guys! I will say though that my 2 roomates are still both single (we’re 30). But 30 isn’t old yet. (I don’t think so anyway!)
    Oh-I hated high school. It sucked.

Leave a Reply

