Leave a comment

My 2010 in Media


For me, this has been a really good year for discovering new media (books, movies, TV shows). Here are just a few things that I’ve discovered this year.

TV Shows

Arrested Development– I had been meaning to watch this show for a really long time but never got around to it. I never remembered to look for the DVDs at Hastings, no one I knew had it, it wasn’t online, blah, blah, blah.  Season 1 ended up being on Hulu all July so I jumped on the ball and watched the entire season pretty quick. I fell in love pretty much instantly. Instead of waiting for the next season to be on Hulu I bought seasons 2 & 3 for really cheap on Amazon (and season 1 later on). I’m so glad I finally got into the show.

Fringe– I never really watched Fringe regularly until this year. I ended up buying season 1 because it was pretty cheap at Target. That’s when I become a bit obsessed with the show. I feel it’s one of the best shows on TV at the moment. More people really need to watch it. (Tune in tonight!)

LOST– Yet another show I had wanted to watch for a really long time. I knew I couldn’t just start watching it without having watched the previous episodes so I kept putting it off. I was happy to discover that Hulu was streaming the first 5 seasons until the end of the year. I went through the seasons really fast (I think I finished them in about 2 months). Sadly I had to wait until August for season 6 and ended up buying it because I really wanted to finish the series. I love show. I now understand all the hype behind it and hate myself a bit for not watching it from the beginning.

Raising Hope– I was a bit leery about watching this but I’m so glad that I’ve continued watching it. It has a lot of heart.

Movies

Toy Story 3– I’m a huge Disney/Pixar fan so obviously I was excited for this. It was as  good as I hoped it would be. I laughed, I cried, I re-lived my childhood. That’s why I will never outgrow Disney movies.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1- The Harry Potter series has always been near and dear to my heart. They were the first books to make me want to read. With that being said, I loved the movie.  While I do enjoy the movies, they are never as good as the books (or how I imagine the book/movie being in my head). So far this was my favorite of the movies. I haven’t read the book in quite a while so I don’t remember everything but I do think the movie was the truest to the book. My only complaint is the movie was slow but I realize that’s because the 1st half of the book was pretty slow. (Also I don’t think I could handle all the deaths and fighting in one movie.)

Books

Percy Jackson series- I can’t tell you how much I loved these books. I have been searching for quite a while for a series that was as good as the Harry Potter books. So far these are the closest ones I’ve found. I got the first book after waiting forever at the library. I read it really fast. I ended up buying the whole series as I read the books because I didn’t want to wait for the next book. I HIGHLY recommend the books if you enjoy Young Adult books.

The Lost Hero– I had to read this since I enjoyed the Percy Jackson series so much. It does not disappoint. It’s every bit as good as Percy Jackson.

The Princess Bride- LOVED the book. I have been a fan of the movie for a long time but had never read the book. I’m so glad I finally did. It’s just as funny as the movie. If you like the movie, read the book. You’ll love it!!

 

Those are the real “stand out” items that I discovered this year. What did you discover this year?

Leave a Reply

